Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Monday, December 22, 2014

BORDEN EGG NOG REVIEW (VIDEO)

Borden Egg Nog certainly brings back fond memories of childhood Christmases past. It's been missing in recent years, but I found it in a new, resealable container this year at Giant. No more punching holes in the top of a metal can, and now it will stay fresher. Unlike other egg nogs on the market, Borden's can stay off ice for many months until you open it.

Elsie the Cow, Borden's famous mascot, is still on the package, as well. During my review, you'll also learn a bit about her history, and about the history of egg nog.

Does Borden's egg nog still taste as good as it did decades ago? Watch my review to find out!

Friday, November 21, 2014

ROLLED CHICKEN TACOS ROLL INTO TACO BELL IN ROCKVILLE (VIDEO)

Taco Bell has reinvented the taco - in a new rolled form, wrapped around marinated, shredded chicken, and served with your choice of 5 dipping sauces. Also known as "dipping tacos" since they were announced last week, the new Rolled Chicken Tacos rolled into Taco Bells nationwide yesterday. I stopped by the Rockville Taco Bell to test them out. As you can see above, they come 2 to a paper sleeve, with a clear window on the side of the sleeve.

I found out you could only get 1 or 2 of the sauces (2 in my case, since I bought the 4-piece Rolled Chicken Tacos). I chose Spicy Ranch and melted Nacho Cheese. How did they taste? Watch my YouTube World Premiere review to find out.

Thursday, October 30, 2014

POP TARTS LIMITED-EDITION PUMPKIN PIE REVIEW (VIDEO)

Pop Tarts has two limited-edition flavors for Halloween, and the most promising variety is Frosted Pumpkin Pie. I tested it out in this video review. The Halloween Countdown continues on the Robert Dyer Channel.

Friday, October 10, 2014

TACO BELL ROCKVILLE STARBURST STRAWBERRY FREEZE REVIEW (VIDEO)

Rockville's Taco Bell has a brand new Freeze beverage, and it's another collaboration with a major food brand. The Mexican fast food chain has teamed up with Starburst candy to create... the Taco Bell Starburst Strawberry Freeze. A slush-style frozen beverage, the Starburst Freeze is available in regular size and large. Does it really taste like a Starburst, and is it worth heading to Rockville Pike for? Watch my review and find out!

Monday, October 6, 2014

SHEETZ PUMPKIN PIE LATTE REVIEW (VIDEO)

The Halloween Countdown continues on the Robert Dyer Channel. Pumpkin Spice Lattes are a dime-a-dozen these fall days (except for McDonald's odd decision to not bring theirs back this year), but I stumbled across an alternative to the ubiquitous beverage while on the road this weekend.

Sheetz has a different concept - a Pumpkin Pie Latte, rather than Pumpkin Spice. The ordering process is unique as well at Sheetz. The convenience store and mega gas station eliminates the need to use Starbucks lingo at the counter (and the often misspelled name on your cup) by letting you place the order on a touchscreen. Pick exactly what you want added to your coffee on the screen (including an extra shot of pumpkin pie flavor or an espresso shot), pay at the cashier counter, and wait for your number to be called to pick up your Pumpkin Pie Latte.

Was it worth the (short) wait? Watch my review to find out. Sheetz is in several nearby states, including Maryland (of course), Virginia, West Virginia, and its home base of Pennsylvania.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

STRAWBERRY CREME TWINKIES REVIEW (VIDEO)

Strawberry Creme is the second of 3 limited-edition summer flavors of Hostess Twinkies. Watch my review to find out if these are as good as the Blue Raspberry variety I tested earlier in the summer.

Friday, July 18, 2014

HERR'S SLOPPY JOE POTATO CHIP REVIEW (VIDEO)

One of the great American dinner solutions for decades has been the Sloppy Joe. Some say it was invented in Iowa in the 1930s, but many of us tend to think of the Manwich of the 1970s-present.

"What's a Manwich?"

Of course, now Manwich-type products exist that don't even require you to add your own ground beef - it's already in there. Now Herr's of Pennsylvania brings us a Sloppy Joe potato chip. As a major Sloppy Joe/Manwich fan, I'm skeptical it can be done. Particularly given the fact that I don't see either beef or green pepper on the ingredient list.

Let's go ahead and test it out. Will it be just the equivalent of a sandwich, or a Manwich? Watch my review and find out.

Monday, July 7, 2014

HOSTESS BLUE RASPERRY CREME TWINKIES REVIEW (VIDEO)

Hostess has created 3 new Twinkies flavors for Summer 2014: Blue Raspberry Creme, Strawberry Creme, and Chocolate Creme. I like almost any food or drink in the color blue, so I decided to try the Blue Raspberry variety first.

How do they taste? How do they compare to the "new" classic Twinkie? Watch my review to find out! Plus, we get the latest on our expert's suddenly-burgeoning Hollywood career, which has taken another strange turn.

Thursday, July 3, 2014

WENDY'S STEAKHOUSE JR. CHEESEBURGER REVIEW (VIDEO)

Wendy's Steakhouse Jr. Cheeseburger has arrived in Rockville, at the Wendy's located on the Pike at First Street. Before you start thinking about a 1/3 pound Wagyu beef patty, that's not the kind of Steakhouse Wendy's is talking about. This is the standard Dave's Hot and Juicy 100% junior beef patty, with Steakhouse seasoning added.

A garlic aioli finishes the steakhouse theme, along with other standard toppings: lettuce, tomato, red onion, and American cheese.

Does the Steakhouse Jr. Cheeseburger live up to the steakhouse hype? Watch my video for the full report!

Friday, June 20, 2014

DORITOS JACKED TEST FLAVOR 404 REVIEW (VIDEO)

It's time to try out the second of 3 mystery Doritos Jacked "test flavors." This time, it's the yellow-label Doritos Jacked Test Flavor 404. The ingredients include molasses, brown sugar, onion, garlic, and two kinds of citrus. What does that add up to?

Watch my review and find out! Plus our expert tells us what he's doing to get ready for the World Cup games.

Friday, May 30, 2014

DORITOS JACKED TEST FLAVOR 855 REVIEW (VIDEO)

Doritos has 3 new mystery flavors, and I decided to try Test Flavor 855 first because it has blue cheese listed on the ingredients. 855 also has cayenne pepper, cheddar cheese, buttermilk, paprika... Can I guess what it is? And how good is it? Watch my review and find out!

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

LEBRON JAMES SPRITE REVIEW (VIDEO)

What better beverage to test out during the NBA Playoffs than the limited-edition LeBron James Sprite? Watch my video review. This soft drink adds cherry and orange flavors to Sprite's trademark lemon-lime. Is this the "King" of soft drinks? These are the questions to ponder when your team (Washington Bullets) has already been bounced from the playoffs.

Monday, May 5, 2014

BANQUET CHICKEN FINGERS MEAL REVIEW (VIDEO)

Here's a TV dinner with no pretenses of being a health food choice. No vegetables are to be found. Just three things many Americans enjoy eating: fried chicken tenders, macaroni and cheese, and a brownie.

You can find this meal for about $1 in the grocery store. How does it taste? Watch my review to find out.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

MCDONALD'S PEACHES AND CREAM PIE REVIEW (VIDEO)

McDonald's has just added another limited-time-only item to the menu - the McDonald's Peaches and Cream Pie. True to its name, the pie features diced peaches and cream filling, inside a buttery, golden brown crust. How does it taste? Let's find out in this YouTube World Premiere review of the Peaches and Cream Pie.

Monday, April 7, 2014

SMART ONES FISH AND CHIPS REVIEW (VIDEO)

Fried fish and french fries for 300 calories? How will that taste? Watch my video review of Weight Watchers' Smart Ones Fish and Chips to find out!

This frozen dinner has one of those silver-lined packages, designed to make the fish and french fries crisp in the microwave. How did that work out? We'll find out in the video.

The fish and chips are an Alaskan Pollock filet, and crinkle-cut french fries, respectively.

Thursday, April 3, 2014

TACO BELL A.M. CRUNCHWRAP REVIEW (VIDEO)

Back we go to Taco Bell in Rockville, for another sample of the new Taco Bell Breakfast!

The Taco Bell breakfast menu also includes a breakfast variation on the popular Crunchwrap. You can order the new A.M Crunchwrap in three variations: steak (my choice), sausage or bacon.

Inside the warm, grilled tortilla are Taco Bell's marinated thick-cut steak, scrambled eggs, a hash brown patty, cheddar cheese, and jalapeƱo sauce. It is a heartier entree than the new Waffle Taco.

How does it taste? Watch my video review to find out:

Friday, March 28, 2014

ROCKVILLE TACO BELL WAFFLE TACO REVIEW (VIDEO)

Taco Bell Breakfast is here, and here is my first review from the menu! The Waffle Taco is available in Egg and Cheese, Sausage or Bacon versions. I chose to start with the sausage version, which has a sausage patty, scrambled eggs, and cheese wrapped in a warm waffle. A packet of maple syrup comes with it, for dipping purposes.

How has the Taco Bell breakfast experiment turned out? Watch my detailed review and find out! I also give an update on the Taco Bell Breakfast Phone.

Thursday, March 13, 2014

MCDONALD'S BACON CLUBHOUSE CHICKEN SANDWICH REVIEW (VIDEO)

What if you put Big Mac special sauce on Fried Chicken? McDonald's just answered that question. The new McDonald's Bacon Clubhouse can not only be ordered as a quarter-pound burger, but as a crispy or grilled chicken sandwich, as well.

I tested the crispy chicken version, and here is my review. This sandwich features all the same ingredients as the burger version I tested last week, including Big Mac special sauce, white cheddar cheese, grilled caramelized onions, tomato, whole leaf lettuce and thick-cut Applewood smoked bacon, on the brand-new "soft, warm Artisan bun."

)

Monday, March 10, 2014

MCDONALD'S BACON CLUBHOUSE BURGER REVIEW (VIDEO)

Montgomery County is one of the first places in America to get a historic new sandwich from McDonald's: the new McDonald's Bacon Clubhouse. The Bacon Clubhouse can be ordered as a burger, or as a chicken sandwich (grilled or crispy).

What makes the Bacon Clubhouse historic? It is the first time McDonald's has used its famous Big Mac special sauce on a non-Big Mac product. In this case, you're getting the special sauce on a quarter-pound, all-beef patty, with premium leaf lettuce, tomato, grilled caramelized onions, Angus seasoning, and thick-cut smoked Applewood bacon.

One other big deal with this sandwich? The bun.

The Bacon Clubhouse features a special new bun, which McDonald's is calling a "soft and warm Artisan roll." A shiny egg wash effect tops off the premium bun, which is slightly sweet in flavor, and has the toasted exterior and soft interior of a high-quality dinner roll.

What's the verdict?

Watch my review to find out!

Monday, February 17, 2014

LAY'S PICO DE GALLO POTATO CHIPS REVIEW (VIDEO)

Like salsa with your chip? How about a potato chip that has the salsa on it already? Lay's has a new potato chip flavor, Lay's Pico de Gallo. Let's try it out in this video review.